The Basic Facts on Ireland

Ireland is an island with no snakes. It sites north-west of continental Europe. Ireland is the third largest Island in Europe and the 20th largest Island on planet earth. Ireland is separated from Great Britain by the Irish Sea.

  • National Day of Ireland: St. Patrick’s Day
  • Capital & Largest City: Dublin
  • Population: 4,250,000
  • GDP: $172,300,000,000 (USD)
  • Total Area:
    27,135 (sq miles)
    70,280 (sq kilometers)
  • Highest Point: Carrauntoohil
  • Currency: euro (EUR)
  • Number of Provinces in Ireland: 4
  • Names of the 4 Provinces in Ireland: Leinster, Ulster, Munster and Connacht
  • Number of Counties in Ireland: 32 (26 in The Republic of Ireland and 6 in Northern Ireland)
  • 26 Counties in The Republic of Ireland: Carlow, Cavan, Clare, Clare, Cork, Donegal, Dublin, Galway, Kerry, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Leitrim, Limerick, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Meath, Monaghan, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo, Tipperary, Waterford, Westmeath, Wexford, and Wicklow
  • 6 Counties in Northern Ireland: Fermanagh, Antrim, Tyrone, Down, Armagh, and Derry
  • Official Language of Ireland: Ireland has 2 official languages, Gaelic, know as the first official language and English. Most official documents are published in both, but from a legal perspective Gaelic takes precedence.
  • 4 Symbols of Ireland: Shamrock, Round Tower, Harp and Irish Wolfhound

Links with additional Information:

Stats on Ireland and Different Counties in Ireland:

Central Statistics of Ireland:


Great Interactive Maps of Ireland: